Before We Were Yours - Audible Link     
Historical

Before We Were Yours  

Visit Lisa Wingate's page

Goodreads best historical fiction award for 2017.
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for fans of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.
Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.
Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals - in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country - Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. ©2017 Lisa Wingate (P)2017 Random House Audio

Wildwood Creek - Audible Link     
Historical Fantasy

Wildwood Creek  

Visit Lisa Wingate's page

Allie Kirkland has never been one to take wild risks. But when she's offered a costuming assistant's job on a docudrama in the hills near Moses Lake, she jumps at the chance. She's always dreamed of following in her director-father's footsteps, and the reenactment of the legendary frontier settlement of Wildwood is a first step. The family expectations will have to wait. But in 1861, the real Wildwood held dangerous realities. Town founder Harland Delevan held helpless residents, including young Irish schoolteacher Bonnie Rose, in an iron grip. Mysterious disappearances led to myths and legends still retold in the folk songs of Chinquapin Peaks. Eventually, the entire site was found abandoned. When strange connections surface between Allie and the teacher who disappeared over a century ago, everyone in Wildwood, including Allie's handsome neighbor on the film set, Blake Fulton, seems to be hiding secrets, and Allie doesn't know who she can trust. If she can't find the answers in time, history may repeat itself...with the most unthinkable results.
©2014 Wingate Media, LLC (P) 2014 Recorded Books

The Writing Desk - Audible Link     
Historical Fantasy

The Writing Desk  

Visit Rachel Hauck's page

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Wedding Dress comes a new captivating novel of secrets, romance, and two women bound together across time by a shared dream.
Tenley Roth's first book was a runaway best seller. Now that her second book is due, she's locked in fear. Can she repeat her earlier success, or is she a fraud who has run out of inspiration?
With pressure mounting from her publisher, Tenley is weighted with writer's block. But when her estranged mother calls asking Tenley to help her through chemotherapy, she packs up for Florida where she meets handsome furniture designer Jonas Sullivan and discovers the story her heart's been missing.
A century earlier, another woman wrote at the same desk with hopes and fears of her own. Born during the Gilded Age, Birdie Shehorn is the daughter of the old-money Knickerbockers. Under the strict control of her mother, her every move is decided ahead of time, even whom she'll marry. But Birdie has dreams she doesn't know how to realize. She wants to tell stories, write novels, make an impact on the world. When she discovers her mother has taken extreme measures to manipulate her future, she must choose between submission and security or forging a brand-new way all on her own. Tenley and Birdie are from two very different worlds, but fate has bound them together in a way time cannot erase. ©2017 Rachel Hauck (P) 2017 Zondervan

The Wedding Dress - Audible Link     
Heart's Bend, Book 1

The Wedding Dress

Visit Rachel Hauck's page

Four brides. One dress. A tale of faith, redemption, and timeless love.
Charlotte owns a chic Birmingham bridal boutique. Dressing brides for their big day is her gift - and her passion. But with her own wedding day approaching, why can’t she find the perfect dress - or feel certain she should marry Tim?
Then Charlotte purchases a vintage dress in a battered trunk at an estate sale. It looks brand new, shimmering with pearls and satin, hand-stitched and timeless in its design. But where did it come from? Who wore it?
Charlotte’s search for the gown’s history - and its new bride - begins as a distraction from her sputtering love life. But it takes on a life of its own as she comes to know the women who have worn the dress. Emily from 1912. Mary Grace from 1939. Hillary from 1968. Each with something unique to share. For woven within the threads of the beautiful hundred-year-old gown is the truth about Charlotte’s heritage, the power of courage and faith, and the beauty of finding true love. ©2012 Rachel Hauck (P) 2018 Thomas Nelson

The Reckoning - Audible Link     
Legacy of the King's Pirates, Book 5

The Reckoning  

Visit Marylu Tyndall's page

When Morgan Shaw crept into the hold of an old pirate ship replica at San Diego's annual Tall Ship Festival, her only intention was to avoid the guy who had just dumped her and who was now boarding the ship with two women on his arm. What she didn't expect was to wake up aboard a real pirate ship 300 years in the past. But of course, it wasn't real. Her wealthy father had obviously staged it all in an effort to get her mind off her upcoming chemo. Or had he?
Pirate Rowan Dutton seeks enough treasure to repay a debt to his sister and reinstate the Dutton name among British Jamaican society. He is but one major haul away from accomplishing his goal when a strange woman appears on his ship and causes him to lose his prey. Despite his anger, he is enthralled with the little minx, her strange clothing, odd speech, and her insistence that they are all actors playing a charade paid for by her father.
Yet when the brazen little lady divulges Rowan's secret to a longtime nemesis, events are triggered that could cost them both their lives and change the course of history forever. ©2015 MaryLu Tyndall (P) 2015 MaryLu Tyndall

Rachel Hauck
Lisa Wingate
Marylu Tyndall
Rachel Hauck
Lisa Wingate
Marylu Tyndall